top of page
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Things You Need To Do Your Senior Year


When I was a junior in High School, many people told me about their senior year... and a lot of those people complained about how it was "too hard" and how they didn't get to enjoy it. I did not let them scare me about  my senior year though... instead I found ways to conquer it instead.

I can proudly say my senior year was one of my best years, and I'm going to show you how you can make it one of your best too!

#1 BE THE FIRST IN LINE

At my school we would all line up to get our parking passes and lockers. If getting the best parking spot and locker is important to you I would make sure you did this. If you're happy about where you park and where your locker is it makes for a great start. I was one of the firsts in line and I got a great parking spot (#2) and it made it so much easier! If you could care less about your parking and locker spot then this isn't an important step for you!

#2 BE ON TIME

This is actually more important than you think! Yeah, yeah I know... sleep is important to all of us BUT you have a responsibility! If you are on time it makes you look more responsible...and I don't know if all schools do what my school did, but if you're on time all the time (and make good grades) you can actually get out of your final exams! Not taking your final exams your senior year? Awesome!

#3 TAKE IT EASY

Seriously, let your Senior year be easy! The last thing you need is to be super over stressed with classes AND college preparation! If AP classes are easy for you then go for it, but if you really struggle with those classes you may want to take a standard class. I took standard classes and there is no shame with taking a standard class! I dual enrolled in college classes so that is what I did instead of AP classes because that was what was easy for me! Do what is best for you with your schedule!

#4 DUAL ENROLL OR CO-OP

I would really consider doing one of the two! I dual enrolled, and it was the best thing I did! I took my high school classes in the morning and then in the afternoon I would go to a close community college and take my English there on Monday/Wednesday! Then on days I didn't have class but got out early, I would go to a part time job that worked with my schedule (so I didn't have to CO-OP). 

I also had a lot of friends who did CO-OP and they liked it so they could leave school and have time to make some money. These people sometimes had problems getting back in time for football games... but that is something you would have to work out with your boss! In dual enrollment I could always get out of work to enjoy football games, but then again my boss worked with my schedule!

#5  GET COLLEGE STUFF OUT OF THE WAYYYYYYYYY

Did anyone tell you that you're senior year is going to be full of scholarships and college applications?! If not... SURPRISE! As soon as you can you should start on all of it! It's really important... especially those scholarships. Every time I had free time I would do as many scholarships as I could, so I could have a good chance at getting at least a few! If you get this out of the way, it'll be less stressful later on!

#6 MAKE NEW FRIENDS

You may have your little group of friends still and that's good, but when I was a Senior I didn't have the same friends I use to have... this made me want to be more friendly with everyone. And when I say "more friendly with everyone", I mean EVERYONE. This made my Senior year more enjoyable. No, I wasn't BFF's with every single person... I only had one or two true friends during my senior year... but I enjoyed a lot of peoples company and had a lot of fun with these friends. Get to know people you usually wouldn't get to know! Step out of your comfort zone! Make your last year count with new friends to enjoy it with!

#7  GET INVOLVED

If you're into sports, play on a Varsity team! They can be lots of fun and you have an opportunity to get close to a team and be a part of a team! If you're not into sports, band is also fun, I had a lot of friends in band and they absolutely loved it! I wasn't in any of that since I was pretty busy with dual enrollment and work! But I was in some clubs, and those were usually during school! I had a blast being a part of a club and will definitely continue to be in clubs during college! Get involved and make the most of your Senior year! 

#8 SUPPORT YOUR TEAM 

My school was really into football games, we would all gather up in the student section and dance to the bands music and yell cheers! It would be an absolute blast! The same would go on at basketball games and volleyball games! When you're involved in things that go on in your school, it makes everything more enjoyable. Especially when you get involved in pep rally's! Show the under class men how to have team spirit and have fun!

Now that you know my steps, try these on your own or even find your own ways to conquer your Senior year! You will always remember your years through High School so make a lot of memories and take lots of pictures! Enjoy it, it goes by FAST!

bottom of page